• In total there are 13 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 13 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

Do you read self-published authors?

Authors are invited and encouraged to present their FICTION books solely within this forum.
TheWriter
Master Debater

Unread post

:lol: Inspired by Sebastian Michael's testemony in a previous post of the difficulties of getting published in the traditional way I thought I'd do some probing...

What is your honest gut feeling about books by self-published authors?

Is it possible that it is among the self-published authors that we can find the real gems? Given the "suitable for mass-market" screening of everything that gets published?

What are your thoughts?
We want to put a smile on peoples faces!
The Furries and The Happy Club
writerjohnb
Creative Writing Student

Re: Do you read self-published authors?

Unread post

I'm a self-published author, although I've also been published 4 times by small, independent publishers. I've been through the editing process four times, then, with an assigned editor. Other than typos and objections to some word choices, none of the editors had to suggest changes, so I think my self-editing skills are up to par. None of those indie-published books had good sales, because those small companies don't do any promotion and I apparently suck at promoting.

But when I began writing historical fiction, I found that agents and publishers were not interested (maybe because I didn't include zombies, vampires, wizards, etc.). So I began self-pubbing, including one earlier book that had gone out of print.