• In total there are 24 users online :: 2 registered, 0 hidden and 22 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

New action based epic fantasy series: "The Book of Warriors"

Authors are invited and encouraged to present their FICTION books solely within this forum.
wrpursche
Official Newbie!

New action based epic fantasy series: "The Book of Warriors"

Unread post

Hello everyone!

Although I've been a published author for many years, I am not very comfortable with self promotion (or good at it either!). My first book "The Canine Commandments" pretty much found buyers on its own.

I've been working on an epic fantasy series for literally decades. It was scheduled to be published by a 'big house' quite a few years ago, but through a series of odd events (which I won't bore you with, but which included the publisher point of view that 'long, series based epic fantasy is dead') never came to be.

I've been struck by the direction in fantasy along two lines: First, the increasing number of main characters that aren't, well, likable. Some of these books are very well written, but I just can't find anyone to root for. I understand not wanting the MC to be 'perfect' and with some flaws, but many of them I cannot fathom. Where are the heroes? And if there is one in the story, why does he or she get killed off so easily?

Second, the wave of books that include so much superfluous detail which seems to be included just to make the story long (as if long=epic). Do we really need to know every step that every character makes, and a great level of detail about every piece of clothing worn by a character we will never see again after one scene?

So, all of that, combined with: the telling of a massive defining event, told from multiple points of view.