• In total there are 172 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 172 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 871 on Fri Apr 19, 2024 12:00 am

Is / Ought + Sophie's World

The perfect space for valuable discussions that may not neatly fit within the other forums.
Forum rules
Do not promote books in this forum. Instead, promote your books in either Authors: Tell us about your FICTION book! or Authors: Tell us about your NON-FICTION book!.

All other Community Rules apply in this and all other forums.
jales4
Intern

Is / Ought + Sophie's World

Unread post

Hello,

I am new to this message board, and VERY new to philosophy and humanism.

I am working my way through the book Sophie's World with the help of Philosophy for Dummies. (Has this book been discussed here?)

One concept that I just can't grasp is Hume's IS/Ought idea. Here is an excerpt:

"...draw a conclusion from a descriptive sentence - "That person want's to live too" - to what we call a normative sentence: "Therefore you ought not to kill them." From the point of view of reason this is nonsense. You might just as well say "There are lots of people who cheat on their taxes, therefore I ought to cheat on my taxes too." Hume said you can never draw conclusions from is sentences to ought sentences. Nevertheless it is exceedingly common, not least in newspapers articles, political party programs, and speeches."

Can someone please explain this to me?

Thanks in advance! Jales4
MadArchitect

1E - BANNED
The Pope of Literature

Unread post

Welcome to the forum, Jales. Incidentally, this topic would have fit in just fine in the forum marked "Philosophy, Religion and the Arts". If you want to give your thread maximum exposure to people who are interested in a topic as specific as philosophy, your best bet is to make sure it ends up in the appropriately labelled forum. I hope that doesn't come off as snide -- just trying to offer some friendly advice.