• In total there are 90 users online :: 1 registered, 0 hidden and 89 guests (based on users active over the past 60 minutes)
    Most users ever online was 1086 on Mon Jul 01, 2024 9:03 am

The Road Not Taken by R. Michele Freeman

Authors are invited and encouraged to present their FICTION books solely within this forum.
rmichelefreeman
Getting Comfortable

The Road Not Taken by R. Michele Freeman

Unread post

Hello Everyone,
I am a new author who has just published my first book. This new title has just hit Amazon this week. Check the sample below of The Road Not Taken by R. Michele Freeman. Happy Reading!
http://www.amazon.com/Road-Not-Taken-Mi ... +not+taken

~ Prologue ~
The sound of bare feet meeting the linoleum floor, startle me awake. I lay still in my bed, with my eyelids squeezed shut so tightly, I could feel the sting forming there. I have grown accustomed to frequent and yet failed attempts to wish away my demon. I hear my bedroom door creek. I cringe, pulling the covers closer to my face. Footsteps grow louder as the shadowy figure nears my bed. The covers are pried from my fingers and I try to swallow. The lump in my throat won’t let sound pass through. It is stuck, and I am stuck here. Fighting back proves useless. The grasp around my wrists grows tighter as I try to squirm free.
He leans in close, the skin of his face coming almost close enough to touch mine, cheek to cheek. The hot breath stinging my ear as he releases a harsh whisper, “you bet not ever tell no body, you hear me”. The words are spoken as a question and a demand all at once. I want to scream, but the fear in me tells me not to. Instead I look away- letting the tears moisten my pillow as I silently cry. In my head, I yell stop a thousand times before the lump in my throat dislodges enough for me to utter it out loud. He does not stop what he is doing; he does not stop hurting me, unmoved by my weak demand.